Batanes, Quirino belonging to provinces that remain COVID-free: DOH

covid-19 update

Four provinces in the country remain COVID-free, or no cases of coronavirus disease have been recorded since the outbreak, according to the Department of Health (DOH).

These provinces include Batanes, Quirino, Aurora and Dinagat Islands.

According to the Health department, the isolation or isolation of some in the said area helped so that the COVID-19 infection did not enter them immediately.

The COVID-freeness of the provinces reflects the effective steps taken by their respective local government units.

“Their local governments are very active in terms of screening people coming from areas with community transmission back to them,” said Dr. Beverly Ho, Director IV of Health Promotion and Communication Services.

“Their vigilance is intensified and they continue to campaign to do the minimum health standards in their areas.”

The DOH extended recognition to the local government of the said provinces for their efforts in contact tracing and monitoring of confirmed cases.

“I hope they serve as an example to other LGUs.”

Based on the case bulletin released by the Health department today, the National Capital Region is still the leader with the most new cases of COVID-19, at 971.

Cebu followed with 252 new cases, Zamboanga del Sur with 53, Negros Occidental with 35, and Rizal with 26 newly tested positive.

The total number of COVID-19 cases in the Philippines has reached 72,269.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *